Region of Wellington, Dufferin and Guelph

WDGPH serves the communities of Wellington, Dufferin and Guelph in the south central part of Ontario with a population of approximately 272,000 in an area of 4,200 square kilometres which incorporates 16 municipalities. There are numerous Public Health offices throughout the region.

Map of Wellington, Dufferin and Guelph that includes major roads, boundaries and municipality borders around (from North to South) Melancthon, Mulmur, Minto, Wellington North, East Luther Grand Valley, Shelburne, Amaranth, Mono, Orangeville, Mapleton, Centre Wellington, East Garafraxa, Erin, Guelph/Eramosa, Guelph, and Puslinch

County of Wellington

The County of Wellington covers an area of 2,660 km2 and consists of seven municipalities:

  • Town of Minto (Clifford, Harriston, Palmerston)
  • Town of Erin (Hillsburgh)
  • Township of Wellington North ( Arthur, Mount Forest)
  • Township of Mapleton (Drayton, Moorefield)
  • Township of Centre Wellington (Elora, Fergus, Salem)
  • Township of Guelph/Eramosa (Rockwood)
  • Township of Puslinch (Aberfoyle, Morriston)

The population of approximately 95,000 is predominately rural. The County of Wellington does not include the City of Guelph which is a separate from the county.

The Grand River Conservation Authority oversees the Grand River watershed with features such as Belwood Lake, the Elora Gorge, the Elora Quarry, Conestoga Lake, Puslinch Lake, Conestoga River and the Luther Marsh.

There are three hospitals in the County of Wellington: Groves Memorial in Fergus, Louise Marshall Hospital in Mount Forest and the Palmerston and District Hospital in Palmerston.

The County of Wellington’s risk profile ranks the following as the most likely to occur: tornadoes; ice storms; blizzards; terrorism; drought; extreme heat/cold; foreign animal disease outbreaks; and structural collapse.

County of Dufferin

The County of Dufferin covers an area of 1,486 km2 and consists of eight municipalities.

  • Town of Orangeville
  • Township of Amaranth
  • Township of East Garafraxa
  • Town of Grand Valley (formerly East Luther Grand Valley township)
  • Township of Mono
  • Township of Mulmur
  • Township of Melancthon
  • Village of Shelburne

The population of the County of Dufferin is approximately 57,000. It is largely rural with three urban centres: Grand Valley, Orangeville and Shelburne.

The County of Dufferin is the highest plateau west of Georgian Bay and forms the watershed between four lakes: Huron, Ontario, Erie and Simcoe. Four rivers drain through the county: the Saugeen, Grand, Credit and Nottawasaga.

The Headwaters Health Care Centre in Orangeville is the only hospital in the County of Dufferin.

The County of Dufferin’s risk profile ranks the following as the most likely to occur: snow and ice storms, high winds including tornadoes; widespread power outages; severe thunderstorms; and agricultural and food emergencies including water supply contamination.

City of Guelph

The City of Guelph is situated where the Speed and Eramosa Rivers meet. It is one of the fastest growing cities in Canada with a population of more than 120,000 (138,000 when University of Guelph students are included).

The largest business sector in Guelph is manufacturing. The three largest employers are Linamar, the University of Guelph and the Upper Grand District School Board.

The Guelph General Hospital and Homewood Health Centre are located on Delhi Street.

The City of Guelph’s risk profile ranks the following as the most likely to occur: severe weather including tornadoes and ice storms; hazardous materials release from fixed or mobile sites; and human health emergencies.

Coordination with Other Agencies and Jurisdictions

The range of key agencies with which WDGPH may coordinate a response will vary depending on the nature and scope of the emergency.  It may include local, provincial and federal agencies. Where ever possible mutual aid arrangements with neighbouring jurisdictions will be made.